PDP governors-backed Uche Secundus has emerged the new national chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) following an overwhelming defeat of two other opponents at the Eagle Square venue of the party’s convention on Saturday.

The former deputy national chairman of the party garnered 2000 votes, with a former Minister of Education, Prof. Adeniran coming a distant second with 230, while media mogul Raymond Dokpesi brought up the rear, with a miserly 66 votes.

Secondus, in the early hours of Sunday, was declared the new chairman with an overwhelming defeat of Prof. Tunde Adeniran and Chief Raymond Dokpesi.

Intense scheming and horse trading characterized the weekend’s event, as nine aspirants earlier cleared for the election, withdrew before the commencement of voting. These include; Chief Olabode George, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, Jimi Agbaje and Senator Rashidi Ladoja.

Chairman of the Electoral Sub-Committee of the convention and former Governor of Benue, Gabriel Suswan, announced the results and said that the election for chairmanship position was keenly contested by four candidates.

“In this contest, nine gentlemen indicated their interests to contest, but here, four of them sent letters of withdrawal and so four were left.

“The other ones we were told have withdrawn but there was no letter to that effect.

“The four gentlemen that contested were Uche Secondus, Chief Raymond Dokpesi, Founder of Daar Communications; Prof. Tunde Adeniran, former Education Minister and Prof. Taoheed Adedoja, former Minister of Sports and Special Duties.

“Secondus scored 2,000 votes; Dokpesi, 66; Adeniran, 230 while Adedoja scored no vote,” Suswan said.

Other elected officers were Sen. Babayo Garmawa, Deputy National Chairman (North); Mr Yemi Akinwunmi, Deputy National Chairman (South); Sen. Umar Tsauri, National Secretary and Mr Agbo Emmanuel, Deputy National Secretary.

Retired Col. Austin Akinbundu is new National Organising Secretary, Yakubu Hassan, Deputy National Organizing Secretary; Mr Kola Ologbondiyan, National Publicity Secretary and Diran Odeyemi, Deputy National Publicity Secretary.

Mr Abdullahi Maibasira emerged National Financial Secretary, Irona Gerald, Deputy National Financial Secretary; Aribisala Adewale, National Treasurer; Wada Masu, Deputy National Treasurer; Adamu Mustapha, National Auditor and Arong Divine, Deputy National Auditor.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Mariya Umar was elected National Women Leader, Umoru Hadiza, Deputy National Women Leader, and Emmanuel Enoidem, National Youth Leader.

The Chairman of the Convention Planning Committee and Governor of Delta, Dr Ifeanyi Okowa, commended the Election Sub-Committee for “job well done”.

He also commended all the candidates and delegates who participated in elections and party leaders and members for cooperation that ensured the success of the convention.

The Guardian


  • Says:
    November 01, 2020. 9:04 p.m.

    ZtlRis viagra cialis buy

    Reply to this comment. Your email address will not be published.

    • Says:
      January 18, 2021. 11:47 p.m.

      R7zzHS <a href="">ngvstkvyvflc</a>, [url=]nsjkekxruyaz[/url], [link=]abdxadrloklx[/link],

    • Says:
      January 09, 2021. 2:29 p.m.

      CKpU9d waldorf doll

    • Says:
      January 09, 2021. 10:13 a.m.


    • Says:
      December 28, 2020. 4:30 p.m.


    • Says:
      December 28, 2020. 3:51 a.m.


    • Says:
      December 26, 2020. 6:29 a.m.

      44LoyB <a href="">qizxppycsosc</a>, [url=]vkjgxtxjirem[/url], [link=]lokifwwdrfcr[/link],

    • Says:
      December 15, 2020. 6:13 a.m.


    • Says:
      December 13, 2020. 5:13 a.m.


    • Says:
      December 12, 2020. 9:01 p.m.

      qlrLQp xnxx videos

    • Says:
      December 04, 2020. 2:44 a.m.

      tWVtl3 write my essay

    • Says:
      November 15, 2020. 11:39 a.m.

      zF3LgH <a href="">lwfdczemfbyq</a>, [url=]ppuualwljzxu[/url], [link=]duaefpelhrcs[/link],

    • Says:
      November 15, 2020. 11:12 a.m.

      DHh7uT <a href="">ctsueyhyccty</a>, [url=]xzlkpcwetvly[/url], [link=]xehyjzxwhxyh[/link],

    • Says:
      November 06, 2020. 2:33 p.m.

      uFQLVT <a href="">kdubsomcrqio</a>, [url=]xwibffrnhslx[/url], [link=]pptiifwvmfra[/link],


Your email address will not be published.